Boring Moms and the Kids Who Love Them

So I’m sitting around checking my email one night. My six year old is hangin’ with mom, talking about stuff. I’m kind of just half listening. He’s talking about how bored he is, and how he wishes he was a teenager so he can do all the stuff his brother and sister get to do.

LIKE WHAT?

Well, they get to have friends over.

SO DO YOU

Yeah, but they don’t let me hang out with them.

My teenage son had friends over earlier and he’d been kicked out of the room because he was getting on their nerves ealier that day.

HOW WOULD YOU LIKE IT IF WHEN YOUR FRIENDS CAME OVER YOUR BIG BROTHER KEPT BUGGING YOU AND YOUR FRIEND AND WOULDN’T LET YOU HAVE FUN?

He starts to tell me how he didn’t do anything for the teenagers to be upset with him, and they are boring anyways, and he didn’t really want to hang out with them… yadda yadda…

I’m still sort of just half listening, because at this point I know he’s tired and he’s whining just for the sake of whining. Until he says, “And besides, you never let us do anything dangerous.” And he’s seriously upset about this.

I’m like… WHAT? He repeats himself. hmmmmmm

OK WELL WHAT KIND OF DANGEROUS STUFF WOULD YOU LIKE TO DO THAT MOMMY DOESN’T LET YOU DO?

Never mind.

NOOOOOOOO TELL ME.

Nah You’re a grown up. You’re boring. This is kid stuff. You wouldn’t understand.

I realize this is one of those moments where I need to actually take the time to get to the bottom of it. what dangerous things does my child want to do? And do I need to keep a closer eye on him? It’s very important to me that I know.

I stopped what I was doing and sat by him and hugged him and asked him to please tell me what he was talking about, and I promise I would try to understand.

So that’s when he lays it on me. He recently went to McDonald’s and in his Happy Meal he found a treasure map. He would like to buy a Pirate’s Ship, and go sailing accross the ocean in search of said treasure. But he just KNOWS that I would never let him do this, since he’s just a kid. And I’m an overprotective, boring mom. And I just don’t understand.

But I secretly get the feeling he loves me inspite of it.

Originally posted on Kick Off Your Shoes And Stay Awhile   on Monday, September 11, 2006

5 responses to “Boring Moms and the Kids Who Love Them

  1. Hee hee hee.

    Waa! Boring! Boring mom, who won’t let me sail across the universe alone!

    You know, my boring mom never stopped me from adventures, ever. Because they all happened, whether she approved or not, in my imagination. Wwwhhhhheeeee!

    Also, kids are hilarious.

  2. Hahaha! Kids are just so funny! But my God, what a mean Mom you are for not letting your baby go sailing all around the world without you! MEANIE! HAHA! I have had these conversations with Tyler soooo many times!

  3. Sad you can’t tell him about our sex life. He’d never accuse you of being boring again. Mostly because he’d be so busy with therapy.

  4. somebodystolemytwinkie

    heeeee! LOL

  5. I WANTED TO BE A PIRATE WHEN I WAS HIS AGE!!! I used to dream of the day when pirates would become popular…all because I used to watch Kevin Kline sing in his leather pants…. What?

Leave a Reply

