Love At First Sight?

twinkies_cake1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Do you believe in love at first sight?” Big Mickey (my 9 year old son) asked me that a few years ago.

Actually, what he asked is how did I meet daddy.

I said, “We used to work together a long time ago.”

He came in to look for a job and I gave him an application.

He said, “And when you first saw him you just fell in love and then you got married, hu mommy?”

I thought about it for about half a second and said, “Actually, when I first saw him I thought, ‘ I want to make two handsome and smart and adorable babies with that man. I HAVE to marry him.’ And guess what Big Mickey, he DID make me two handsome, smart, adorable, wonderful babies.”

He smiled.

I could tell that comment made him happy. He doesn’t need to know that I don’t believe in love at first sight, right? LOL

Although the story for years if my husband told it, was just that. It was love at first sight according to him. “The first time I saw you I thought, ‘I’m going to marry that girl!’”

I always sort of just rolled my eyes in my mind or when he wasn’t looking. ewww. Love at first sight? How cheesy. And soooo not true. That’s just what people say in hindsight after they’re married.

Or am I being too cynical?

Until one day I heard him tell the story to a friend. I don’t think he realized I could hear him. He said, “The first time I saw Twinkie, I thought, ‘Oh yeaaaaah! She’s hot. One of these days, I’m gonna hit that’!”

That’s my man! And that’s more believable than the his original version. What a relief.

And it makes me feel a lot better since when I first saw him I thought, “I wonder what he wants? What a dork. He looks lost. I should ask him if he needs help.”

*originally posted on Kick Off Your Shoes And Stay A While  on Wednesday, October 4, 2006

Leave a Reply

