Chick Flicks Are The Root Of All Divorces

I used to hate chick flicks. Even now, I rarely watch them.

And when I do I’m one of those that talks through saying stuff like, “oh come on” or “Yeah, like THAT would happen.”

One thing I absolutely hated about chick flicks is the way they end. They always end perfectly.

The guy gets the girl.

The girl steals the guy from the hot cheerleader.

And we’re led to believe they lived happily ever after.

Well, guess what people? They don’t.

Then they make us women feel completely inadequate when we face similar chick-flicky situations where we meet the guy at the supermarket after we reached for the same produce, or at the library where we bumped into each other while one was on their cell phone and the other was reaching for a book, etc and it doesn’t end happily.

What the hell is wrong with me?

Why can’t I have that fairytale ending?

Why can’t I have a “moment” of pure love and sheer happiness?

What we don’t realize is… we DO.

Life is full of moments. We just need to keep our eyes open to them.

Another thing we need to realize if it were “real life” that movie would continue after that happy ending. Because real life goes on. And it’d be full of the same kind of drama we deal with daily.

I’ve been fortunate enough to have many of these moments and even more fortunate to have been able to recognize them. Is Mr. Twinkie a perfect romantic gentleman?

NO! (sorry honey, if you’re reading this)

I am the perfect wife? Hell-to-the-no!

Which makes it that much sweeter when he calls me out of the blue just to say “hi” or when he looks at me from accross the room and flirts with me or when he stops at Blockbuster and picks a movie he knows I’ll like which isn’t necessarily a movie he would pick for himself or when he kisses me goodbye when he’s going to work and the kiss lingers just enough to give me butterflies or when he calls me sweetiepie or when I come home from work and somehow he just knew I wasn’t feeling good and he has dinner ready and tells me to go upstairs and relax or when he tells the guys “NO, I can’t play poker tonight because I’m gonna spend time with my wifey.” Or when he calls me “wifey.”

All of this makes up for the times when he DOES go play poker with the guys and I stay home with the kids or when he plays golf during the day and it drags into cocktails afterwards which then drags into something else and he doesn’t get home till the evening and when I want to go out he’s already pooped because he’s had a long FUN day or when I get home tired and not feeling good and he asks when dinner is gonna be ready or when he changes his clothes and throws them all over the room instead of putting them in the hamper that is RIGHT THERE, you know? RIGHT NEXT TO THE PANTS YOU THREW ON THE FLOOR? or when we have plans to go watch a movie but he gets invited to go out with the guys and he looks at me pleading for an ok so he won’t feel guilty if he says yes or when I go to the grocery store and when I get back he pretends like he didn’t hear me calling out for help to bring them in from the car.

Because, life happens when you’re busy waiting for your chick flick marriage. But it happens with all those chick flick moments when you have your eyes open to them and appreciate them when they come.

love sweet love

Leave a Reply

