Chick Flicks II/Mr. Twinkie Makes Me Cry II

So far we’ve covered my semi disgust of chick flicks and the time Mr Twinkie made me cry because of a prank gone wrong.

Today I’d like to cover both topics again. Mostly, about the chick flick moments in my own marriage.

Like I said before, we ALL have those chick flick moments but we don’t all recognize them as such sometimes.

I’ve been fortunate enough to have many of these moments and even more fortunate to have been able to recognize them. One of them made me bawl.

When I say “bawl” what I really mean is “CRY UGLY”. And it was all my husband’s fault. (yeah, sure I’ll just blame him.)

We were having a quiet evening at home. Movie night and one of the movies was The Notebook. I really loved this movie because it’s bold enough to NOT show us a perfect relationship. I mean, they fought. She left him. She almost marries someone else. It’s “real” right? Well, as real as a movie gets anyways.

One thing you need to know about me is that I’m not a real sensitive girl. In fact I’m a little cold hearted. If you didn’t already realize that from my chick flick hatred. But for some reason, this movie really touched me. I guess because I realized that in the midst of my husband’s and I fighting, bickering, family issues we might have, we love each other. And we’ll survive. It won’t be perfect. Then again, live doesn’t have to be perfect to be wonderful, right?

Ok, so back to the movie. If you’ve never seen it, then this won’t make any sense to you. Go rent it and watch it, then come back and read the rest of this blog. Seriously, stop reading right now or it’s going to spoil the ending for you.

At the end of the movie, when you just know the old lady is about to croak…. … my hubby turns to me and says, “Don’t die before me, babe. I couldn’t live without you.”

I felt the same way. No matter what family issues we have, I know that I couldn’t live without him. I love him. I let a tear sneak out. WHAT? Don’t judge me. You had to be there. It was sweet. Of course I don’t want him to know I’m tearing up because then I’ll never hear the end of it, so I make a joke. I said, “Well then YOU die first. And we won’t have to worry about it, then will we?”

THEN… the old guy crawls in bed with his wife, and they… well… you know..they died together.

And my hubby says, “That’s how I want us to go babe, together”.

I don’t know why this moved me the way it did. But it did. I giggled at first, to mask the ugly noise that was about to creep out of my throat. But then…. I started bawling. Not crying, not tearing up, I mean it when I say I cried UGLY!

Poor guy. He didn’t know what to do. He patted me on the back and said, “Are you ok?”

I started laughing/crying. I couldn’t believe myself. But the more I laughed, the more it made me cry. I cried and cried… I don’t know how or why, but all these emotions were stirring up inside me and overcame me and were choking me ’till I couldn’t breathe.

I was crying so hard that my body was shaking violently and so he tried to hold me and at first I didn’t let him. When I stopped shaking enough and I thought I might be almost done crying, I finally let him snuggle up to me.

He hugged me tight and said, “There now, baby! Are you ok?”

I started bawling again. And again. And again. The credits are over, it’s just a blank screen on the t.v. at this point. And I’m still “crying ugly”. And boy do I mean UGLY! Did I mention it was UGLY? Yeah, UGLY! And what’s worse is every time he asks me if I’m ok, it only makes it worse.

Poor guy. He is so nervous. Ha. He sort of giggles in between my loud sobbing. You can tell he’s so uncomfortable and has no idea how to make me stop. I could see him sweating and it was winter. Yup, that’s how nervous my crying was making him.

Was it something he did/said? He’s trying to figure me out. I can see his mind working on overdrive. But there is nothing he can come up with that would help. Nothing he says or does makes me stop crying. In fact, it makes me cry even more.

Finally, I’m done! He seems relieved, but still a bit apprehensive. We both had a little nervous laugh about it. And we went to bed. He snuggles with me … and well, whoa! Big mistake! This just triggers MORE tears.

In between sobs I ask him, “Honey will you please hold me till I fall asleep?”

He agrees. Isn’t he sooooo sweet? Another “chick flick” romantic moment, right? Sure, for the moment. Then about 15 minutes later I think he realizes movie night was a bust. AND he’s not gonna lucky. So he says in a frustrated voice, “Ok can I have my arm back now? I want to get some sleep”.

Ah yes! My movie moment was sweet and romantic while it lasted! ha. And now, back to reality. But that’s ok. It was real. And it was a “moment.” And I will always cherish it. I look forward to many more “chick flicky moments” with my honey!

Can you remember/share any of your own romantic/chick flick movie moments?

2 responses to “Chick Flicks II/Mr. Twinkie Makes Me Cry II

  1. OMG, Twinks! First, I love your story! Second, my story about the Notebook is similar, but the roles are reversed!

    I am a hopeless romantic and very emotional. When it really matters, I cry. And I’m sure it’s ugly.

    We watched the Notebook together, and at the end, I’m SOBBING and through the ugly tears I said to my hubby, “If you have to go, that would be the best way…together!” And I continued to cry all the way through the credits! He says, “You okay?” And I shook my head yes. Then he holds me until I stop.

    Love you!

  2. Awwww! Yay! I’m glad I’m not the only one that cried watching that movie!

Leave a Reply

