There’s a Monster In The Room. Can I have a glass of water?

I’m horrified of the paranormal. Anything that jumps or creeks or has died and come back? Yup.. I want nothing to do with it

 Some people love it. Some people even WISH they had ghosts in their home. Not me! I’m a real wuss when it comes to anything like that. I can’t watch any movies that have ghosts or demons in them. I have nightmares.

 In fact, when I first started reading Lords Part One, by N.L. Belardes, I had nightmares for days. I had to put the book down for a few days. I read a good chic lit, Morning Coffee, by Elizabeth Alan then picked Lords back up later. I’m glad I did! It was a great book.

When we first moved into our brand new, built-just-for-us-nobody-has-lived-in-or-died-in home the creaks and rattles of the house “settling” would freak me out. I thought for sure the house was haunted.

I became really paranoid.

I tried to convince myself it was all in my head.

Then things started happening.

Our linen closet is located in the downstairs bathroom. I know, I know.. dumb place to put a linen closet. But whatever. Well, the door kept opening by itself. At first I didn’t think anything of it but then after a while it was just plain creepy.

I would go in to use the restroom. The door would be open. I would shut it. A few minutes later it would be open again.

This happened for a few weeks and then I started to become paranoid. I started seeing shadows. I could feel a presence over me and it would wrap itself up around me until I couldn’t breathe.

Once in a while I heard a whisper tickle my ear.

Then I started having nightmares. I finally decided to ask everyone if they noticed it too. Nobody had any ghost encounters, and nobody had noticed the open door. I was really scared then!

A few hours later, my youngest son finally confessed! He’d been opening it because he was afraid of what was in there.

Me: “You DO know there are no such thing as ghosts or monsters, right?”

Him: unconvinced “ummmm? Yeaaaaah!”

Me: “Don’t you think if there WAS a ghost or monster in there you might want to keep the door CLOSED so it doesn’t escape?”

Him: “I don’t know, I guess. But it’s just creepy. And when it’s closed and I’m afraid.”

Me: “Well stop opening it because it’s messy in there and when the door is open people can see the mess.”

Him: “ok”

A few minutes later I walk by the bathroom and the linen closet door is open again. We’ve been in our home for 5 years now, and to this day, that damned door is still open. I still walk by and shut it. Minutes later he still walks by and opens it. I don’t fight it anymore. If he feels safer from ghosts or monsters by having that door open, then so be it!

**I’m happy to report no ghosts have escaped from it so far.

One response to “There’s a Monster In The Room. Can I have a glass of water?

  1. It’s actually been 8 years now. I originally wrote this blog entry in 2007. AND… the door is still habitually opened.

Leave a Reply

