Thank You!

*I recently wrote a review for my MAS BOOK CLUB for the book Lost In America: Memoires of a Maverick and the author Joe Tetro sent me this email which really touched my heart.

Twinkie went to the book signing for Lost In America: Memoires of a Maverick. Joe Tetro and his lovely wife are a very intellectually interesting couple. AND they're super sweet!

Twinkie went to the book signing for Lost In America: Memoires of a Maverick. Joe Tetro and his lovely wife are a very intellectually interesting couple. AND they're super sweet!

Twinkie,
I am so humbled by your generous account of my book,me and my wife; yes, in the most delightful and unpretentious ways of the word “charming” she comes across as someone who’s genuine and unassuming.

Your take on my book was heartwarming to me. Every critic approaches it from a slightly different angle. Your stressing of my search for the genuine and unerring truth against a background of abuse and a personal underground retreat was riveting; I mean a writer (and some hate critics I guess) learns to know himself by what his reviewers say about his or her works. In other words we writers—locked in a human mind whose perception is limited like everyone else—are not the beginning and end of knowing ourselves, and every reviewer “takes a picture” of a work and its author from a different angle. It reminds me of a book I read about the human brain which, in an oversimplified way, works like a circle of mirrors whose multiple perceptions of the brain’s view of its surroundings, is miraculously merged into one seamless picture of all those perceptions.

Thank you so much for your unflagging support of my work (and I do mean “work”) If I take another step in the line of promoting my book it will not be in the direction of promoting this self publication the sale of one copy of which nets me less than a dollar. The cost of $15.40 is the cost of producing one print-on-demand copy minus less than a $1.00 for royalty.

If I go on to promoting it, I will use my 24 copies left from the signing plus all the reviews my book has attracted, which is now two plus the press release and Nick’s blurb plus any added reviews I can scare up in the future.

Again I really appreciate your review of my book and your personal compliments. It’s not easy to move into new surroundings at my age, and even harder to make new friends. You have gone out of your way to pave the way to both those ends for me here in Bakersfield. If I can ever return the favor please don’t hesitate to ask me.

Ciao,

Joe

Twinkie really enjoyed getting Lost In America
Twinkie really enjoyed getting Lost In America

You can buy Lost In America by clicking HERE

3 responses to “Thank You!

  1. sweet. next time you move you can cash in that favor.

  2. hahahah… well hopefully that won’t be for a looooong time. We bought our home with a 15 year loan so I’m not looking to move anytime soon. Especially with this market. We bought our home for $125k and now it’s supposedley worth about $250k… ridiculous.

  3. I’m playing catch up with my blog reading. That is so great that Joe Tetro wrote back to you and I know it must mean a lot. I remember one year I got some good advice from someone at a workshop and a year later I wrote him a short thank you note and told him what I was doing with his good advice. He replied with a letter that was twice as long as mine and gave me even more good advice! People really appreciate knowing when they’ve made an impact on someone else. So thanks for causing that memory to resurface!

Leave a Reply

