Waking Up In Vegas

Waking Up In Vegas by Katy Perry Lyrics:

You gotta help me out
It’s all a blur last night
We need a taxi ’cause you’re hung-over and I’m broke
I lost my fake I’d but you lost the motel key
Spare me your freakin’ dirty looks
Now don’t play me
You want to cash out and get the hell out of town

One of my friends that went to Vegas with me recently said this Katy Perry song never made much sense to her until we got back.

more lyrics:
Don’t be a baby
Remember what you told me
Shut up and put your money where your mouth is
That’s what you get for waking up in Vegas
Get up and shake the glitter off your clothes, now
That’s what you get for waking up in Vegas

Katy Perry having fun with friends at a club (taken from her website)

Katy Perry having fun with friends at a club (taken from her website)

—-
To her, she says, waking up at home the morning after getting back from our girls Vegas trip was like waking up from a dream. Or a fantasy world.

Sort of like our Fairy Godmother had sprinkled us with fairy dust, turned a mouse into an Alligiant airplane, turned our work uniforms into short mini’s and our flip flops into sexy high heels and sent us on our way.

fairy godmother

While in Vegas we had such a fun, yet-oh-so-relaxing-time, that when we got home (translation=reality) it was like waking up with the glitter still on but the fun was long gone.

I said, “Really? You think Katy Perry is talking about the glitter being fairy dust? Cuz I always thought she was talking about stripper glitter?”

I mean, not that I don’t like her version better but ….

I've always associated glitter to slut dust(stripper glitter.) Not that there is anything wrong with that. *wink*

I've always associated glitter to slut dust(stripper glitter.) Not that there is anything wrong with that. *wink*

I guess that’s why music is so universal. It’s all open to interpretation.

6 responses to “Waking Up In Vegas

  1. I have still never been to Vegas. I’m way too old not to have been yet. It’s getting pitiful.

    And stripper glitter is a totally fair interpretation. Totally.

  2. OK GET OUT OF TOWN!!! Seriously? NEVER been to Las Vegas? GO. NOW.

    And about the lyrics… give me your honest opinion. what do YOU think Katy Perry means when she says that?

  3. You know what’s more of a crash than coming home from Vegas?

    Coming home from Vegas after a conference for work and therefore you didn’t do anything remotely fun for three days…

    You know what’s worse than that?

    Having a kid a year later and knowing you can’t go for at least another three years and said kid is old enough to stay with your parents?

    You know what’s worse than THAT?

    Getting knocked up three years after the work conference and knowing it will be another three years before…

    I’m glad YOU had a good time. 😉

  4. Geezuz woman. You just made me cry ugly. I can’t imagine not going to Vegas at least once a year. FOR FUN.

  5. wow, I really like that song and I never thought of the stripper glitter but now can see that! I thought it was refering to the ‘glitter’ or ‘glitz’ of Vegas all together.
    Kinda of lame and last the song is a reminder that the glitz ends!

  6. hmm…. so basically I’m the only pervert that thought they ended up at a strip club? LOL

Leave a Reply

