Latination 2009 Bakersfield, CA

Olivia Garcia, Editor of MAS Magazine

Standing in front of the gallery with two of the sweetest ladies in Bakersfield.

Pictured above is local Bakersfield blogger, Happy Feet (pink shirt) In the middle is Olivia Garcia, VP Of Content for the Bakersfield Californian products, such as MAS Magazine, The Bakersfield Voice, etc etc…
    She taught me a lot about journalism writing while I was freelancing for MAS Magazine but it really didn’t stick! LOL I need to take a class or two.
Damas, member of the infamous Rock En Espanol band, Likhy2

Damas, member of the infamous Rock En Espanol band, Likhy2

Last time I saw Damas he was very happily engaged. So of course the first thing that popped out of my mouth was, “SOooooo? Married yet?”

His expression quickly changed. Confused, maybe?

“Yeah, last time I saw you, you were engaged!” I explain myself.

Blood immediatley drained out of his happy face. His demeanor quickly changed.

“We were already married. We got a divorce.” he said.

Doh! OOPSIE,

AWKWARD…..

I didn’t mean to bring up old recent wounds. I try to save myself by saying, “Well, at least no kids were involved, right?”

“I have a beautiful 10 month old daughter,” he quickly corrects me.

OUCH…. On the plus side, all you single ladies out there? Damas is back on the market. On the negative side? Twinkie doesn’t know when to keep her mouth shut.

Standing with Alberto Herrera, in front of one of his creations.

Standing with Alberto Herrera, in front of one of his creations.

 

Mento Buru rockin' the house with their Latin, Ska, Mambo greatness...

Mento Buru rockin' the house with their Latin, Ska, Mambo greatness...

 

Standing with Bakersfield author of Lords Part One and Random Obsessions, Nick Belardes

Standing with Bakersfield author of Lords Part One and Random Obsessions, Nick Belardes

Nick Belardes (pictured above) has written two books. One was based on the ‘Lords of Bakersfield’ news stories of the late 1970s and early 1980s.  Lords: Part One is the most controversial work of fiction to ever come out of the Southern San Joaquin Valley. It’s a story of media and high-profile corruption in a conservative city close to the Hollywood storm.
 
The other book, Random Obsessions is a light, fun trivia filled book.
Nick also runs Face Bakersfield, an online “independent Bakersfield news source.”
 
This is the conversation that went down on Facebook when Happy Feet posted this picture:
 
Look at my hobo shirt!! It’s like this pretty senorita picked me up off the street and was proud of giving me 50 cents for my downward luck!
Twinkie:
hahaha… I thought you WERE a hobo, just there for the free food! KIDDING!
 
There was free food?
Shit. I was starving.
 
And then I went to a media party, stayed 10 minutes and snuck out. I could have been CHOWING???
 
Happy Feet
Yes, there was food! You missed it. Chile verde, rice, beans, guacamole, tortillas and chips.
 
Criminy
Twinkie
FREEEEEEEEEE!!!! hahaha…
 
I should have worn my pink outfit.
Twinkie with her partner in crime for the night, fellow blogger, Happy Feet

Twinkie with her partner in crime for the night, fellow blogger, Happy Feet

 We left the gallery early and headed down the street for The Element’s “Open Mic Night.” It happened to be comedy night, and my buddy and fellow blogger Rob Schock was performing.

Rob Schock doing his thing...

Rob Schock doing his thing...

I’d heard about The Element before. It’s an old downtown bar that has gone from being a gay bar, to being a Latin club, to being a place where underground bands perform.

I remember back in the day hanging out and can I just say? I don’t remember it smelling so bad! WHAT.THE.FUCK?

As you walk in it smells like sewer. And the closer to the stairs that you sit? The more it stinks! Lucky for us the smell was very faint by the stage.

Another thing? The air conditioner must not work? It was HOT and STUFFY inb there. I guzzled down a couple of ice cold beers to cool myself off.

BAD IDEA! Filling up your bladder at a place where even the entrance smelled? Ummm yeah! I was afraid of what was waiting for me in there. I mean if it stunk THAT bad as you walked in, how were the toilets looking?

I finally got brave and ventured in.

NOTHING.

No smell.

NO SMELL!!! And? A clean bathroom.

WHAT.THE.FUCK?

This is weird. VERY weird.

I finished my business, washed my hands and came back out. for a second I forgot where I was and what was waiting for me outside of these four CLEAN walls.

I opened the door and… BAM! The smell greeted me in the face and bitch slapped me.

I walked to our table and told the girls, HEY if you guys wanna hang out where it doesn’t stink, we could always hang out in the restroom.

Luckily Rob Shock’s comedy didn’t stink. It made it all worthwhile.

Happy Feet, Rob Shock, and his lovely wife Liz

Happy Feet, Rob Shock, and his lovely wife Liz

6 responses to “Latination 2009 Bakersfield, CA

  1. haha. i don’t know how to keep my mouth shut sometimes either. it’s like if i had just stopped one sentence earlier… maybe it wouldn’t have been so bad. but i always realize that one sentence too late

  2. Hahaha that is a CLASSIC case of “Open Mouth Insert Foot”. Which also happens to be my middle name…

  3. Twinks. You are beautiful. Despite that foot in mouth thing you insist on doing.

  4. … maybe because of it.

  5. Well, only when they are pretty shoes. LOL stinky shoes do nothing for my complexion!

    f.b. and LiLu… glad I’m not the only one.

    and actually after I posted the blog I started thinking GREAT! Way to put Damas on blast about his divorce all over the internet. SHIT!

  6. I have to post this exchange that happened on my bakotopia.com blog.. it’s kinda funny:

    anonymous person: It was probably because people were cutting farts from the brews they were drinking.

    that’s why it smelled like rotten stinky shit, because they were wonderous, weapons of mass destruction grade, wet ones.

    You know, plutonium enriched nuclear type of farts.

    Let ‘er rip Vatos y Vatas

    ——-

    Twinkie: Well DAMN! They need to send those bastards to Iraq and end the madness in one fart. SHIT! That was some rank stank!
    ———

    anonymous: Yeah Twinkie , but, that may unstabilize all of the middle east, with the Nuclear grade farts. Then of course, that would bring a halt to all of the Oil production & effectively starting WW-III. Not to mention the shit storm it would start with Russia from all of the fallout & stank that would fuck up all of their crops & water supply. The Nuclear Holocaust would effectively commence Armageddon. That’s why we have United Nations, to work out our differences without gassing innocent lives because they failed to use Beano.

    Tell the Managers to get their shit together, & clean up their shitty mess before the shit hits the fan, leading Twinkie, to having a shitty time which otherwise would’ve been a great night out.

    This Shit has got top stop !!!

    Clean up your acts venue owners & managers , otherwise, your shitty attitude will translate into shitty turnouts, leaving you in a world of shit.

    Need I say more? SHIT !!!!!!
    —–

    Twinkie: That was craptastic!

Leave a Reply

